OneDrive for Business (OD4B) Tutorials

Table of Contents

How Do I Log In To OD4B?

How Can I Set Up Alerts On My OD4B Content?

Sharing in OD4B

How Do I Restore A Previous Version Of A File?

Using The Recycle Bin


How Do I Log In To OD4B?

All Office 365 services, including OneDrive for Business (OD4B), can be accessed from the Office 365 quicklink on our website.


Enter your LSU Health email address in the "Email or phone" field and select "Sign in." (No need to enter your password here.)

OneDrive for Business Login Dialog Box showing username and password

If prompted, choose "Work or school account". 

If you are on campus using a domain joined computer, you will be automatically logged in.  Otherwise, enter your LSU Health password when prompted.

Once you are logged into Office 365, select OneDrive:

OneDrive Icon

Alternate links for accessing OD4B:





How Can I Set Up Alerts On My OD4B Content?

You may want to set up alerts on your OneDrive for Business (OD4B) content to be notified when content is created, changed, or deleted.

In order to add or remove alerts to content on your OD4B, copy the following URL into a web browser, but replace LSUHSCID with your LSU Health ID:

If you choose to receive alerts for OD4B content, choose "Add Alert":

To add an alert to OneDrive, choose Add Alert.

Then select "Documents" and click "Next". 

Under New Alert, choose Documents, then next in order to add alerts for OneDrive.

You are then presented with a series of choices for the alert you are creating.  You can choose who receives an alert, whether it is by SMS or email, what type of change will send the alert, what criteria is required for the alert, and the frequency of the alert.

When adding an alert to OneDrive, many choices are available including who to send to, delivery method, type, conditions, and frequency.

Once alerts are created, navigate back to the same URL to view, edit, or delete existing alerts.




Sharing In OD4B

NOTE: By default, shared files are accessible by all LSU Health users. Read through the documentation below to learn how to restrict access.

NOTE: Currently, OneDrive for Business (OD4B) files can only be shared with internal LSU Health users. To send files to external users, please see documentation for LSUHealthFileS.

NOTE: OD4B should be used to store your personal work files for individual use with occasional sharing to other individuals within LSU Health. If you are looking to share files with groups of people or teams a SharePoint team site may be more appropriate. 




How To Share Files With An Individual User:

To share a file with another user, select the file you want to share in the OD4B web portal and select “Share” from the ribbon.


Select the blue link that states “Only people in LSUHSC with this link can edit this item”

NOTE: If this is not changed the default settings will give all LSU Health users with a link to the file access to edit the document.


A “Permissions” tab will open. Change the option for “Who can access this link:” to “Only people in the To: line”

NOTE: Leaving “Allow editing” checked will allow the person you are sharing with to make modifications to the file and share the file with others without requesting your approval.


Back in the "Share” window, start typing in the name or ID of the user you are sharing the file with and select the user when it appears below the field. You can then enter a message that will be emailed to the user along with a link to the shared file.





How To View Files That Have Been Shared With You:

When a OneDrive for Business (OD4B) file is shared with you, you will receive an email containing a link to the file. You can view all files that have been shared with you by navigating to the OD4B web portal and selecting “Shared with me” from the left side menu.





How To Create a Shareable Link To A File:

To “Get a link” to a OneDrive for Business (OD4B) file that can be used to view or edit the file, navigate to the OD4B web portal, select the file and select “Get link”


A “Share” window will open. If nothing is changed and you select “Get a link” you will create a link that will give all LSU Health users access to edit the file. To change these permissions select the blue link that states “Only people in LSUHSC with this link can edit this item”


A “Permissions” tab will open. From this tab you can change “Who can access the link:” to “Only specific people” and deselect “Allow editing” if desired. To successfully add a specific person, start typing the name of the user in field and select their name when it appears.


You will arrive back at the “Share” window and see that the blue link text has changed to reflect the “Permissions” you chose. You can now copy and share the link with the user.






Review, Change Or Remove Sharing Permissions On A File

If you would like to review, change, or remove sharing permissions on a file, navigate to the OneDrive for Business (OD4B) web portal and select the file you would like to review.

The files properties will appear along the right side of the browser tab. In the “Sharing” section you can view who the file is shared with, change the level of access a shared user has, or stop sharing the file.

Note: “Service Account901 - Varonis SharePoint” is an account used by our Information Security team for auditing.






How Do I Restore A Previous Version Of A File?

When a change to a file in OneDrive for Business (OD4B) is saved, a new version of that file is created. 

You can view previous versions of a file by selecting the file in the OD4B web portal and selecting “Version History” in the ribbon.


You can then view and restore files by selecting the drop down next to the modified date and time. 





Using The Recycle Bin

NOTE: When an Item is deleted in OneDrive for Business (OD4B) it is stored in the Recycle Bin for 90 days. After 90 days, the deleted item is moved to the "Second-Stage Recycle Bin" for 30 days before being permanently deleted.

Restoring A File From The Recycle Bin

To restore a file you've deleted from OneDrive for Business (OD4B), navigate to the OD4B web portal, and select "Recycle Bin" from the left side menu.


Select the file you'd like to restore and select "Restore"


Restoring A File From The Second-Stage Recycle Bin

If a deleted file is not found in the Recycle Bin, it may be in the "Second-Stage Recycle Bin".

To restore a file from the second-stage recycle bin, navigate to the OneDrive for Business (OD4B) web portal and select "Recycle Bin" from the left side menu. Then select the "Second-stage recycle bin from the bottom of the page.


Select the file to restore, and then select "Restore"