CHANCELLOR'S Notes

July 11, 2008

Educational Enhancement Grants awarded

he Academy for the Advancement of Educational Scholarship has awarded the inaugural Educational Enhancement funding over Grants. Awarded through a peer five years by the review process, each of the National funded proposals represent an inter-professional collaboration and they were approved for funding the full amount of requested funds. They are:

High Fidelity, Simulation Based Interprofessional Operating Room Team Training for Medical, Nurse Anesthesia, and Undergraduate Nursing Students (Innovation/Enhancement Project), Award: \$6,159

Co-PIs: John Paige, MD (School of Medicine) and Deborah Garbee, PhD (School of Nursing)

Project Team: Laura Bonano, DNP©, MS and Lyubov Kozmenko, BS (Nursing) and William Swartz PhD and Valeriy Kozmenko, MD (Medicine)

Assessment Tool to Measure Medical Students' Competencies in Information Retrieval and Application Skills in Clinical Practice (Innovation/Enhancement Project), Award: \$3,000

PI: Kathryn Kerdolff, MLIS, AHIP

Project Team: Maureen Knapp, MA, AHIP (Library) and Richard DiCarlo, MD (Medicine)

Development and Evaluation of a Genetic Nursing Practice Curriculum (Faculty Mentorship Project), Award: \$3,000

PI: Gloria Giarrantano, PhD (Nursing)

Congratulations to all!

LSUHSC awarded \$10 million COBRE grant

• the Health Sciences Center has been • project of junior faculty

awarded \$10,058,325 in Center for Research Resources (NCRR) for cardiovascular biology

research and



mentoring junior faculty. The competitive award represents continuation funding for the NCRR Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) grant originally awarded to us in 2003 bringing the total award to more than \$20.5 million over ten years. Daniel R. Kapusta, PhD, Professor of Pharmacology and Director of the COBRE Cardiovascular Program, is the Principal Investigator on the grant.

The held a press conference on The funding will support four Wednesday to announce that research projects and one pilot

> investigators. Junior faculty are Eric Lazartigues, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacology, T. Cooper Woods, PhD, Instructor of

Pharmacology, Catalin Filipeanu, • MD, PhD, Research Assistant Professor of Pharmacology, Jerome Breslin, PhD, Assistant Professor of Physiology, and Developing Investigator Hernan Bazan, MD, Assistant Professor of Surgery.

The Honorable Jackie Clarkson, Arnie Fielkow, and Neil Abramson, as well as Kurt Weigle also participated.

Diana Bajoie joins staff

iana E. Bajoie has joined the • Sciences Center presence in the staff of LSU Health Sciences Center New Orleans as Director of Community Relations. Her new responsibilities include defining the strategic direction, development, implementation and operation of programs that provide current and pertinent information to the community about available education and health resources at the Health Sciences Center. She will also interface with elected officials at local and state levels to promote a visible, authentic and ongoing LSU Health



community. She will work with the deans of each o f o u r schools to define and implement community relations programs

• and work to promote cultural diversity among faculty, staff and students.