LSUHSC Nursing leaders appointed to state board

r. Demetrius Porche, Dean of the LSUHSC School of Nursing, and Dr. Laura Bonanno,

Director of the LSUHSC Nurse Anesthesia Program, have been appointed to the Louisiana State



Dr. Demetrius Porche

Board of Nursing by Governor Bobby Jindal for four year terms.

Dr. Porche's appointment is actually a re-appointment. He is the current President of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing, a post he will hold through the end of this year.

The 11 members of the



Dr. Laura Bonanno

Louisiana State Board of Nursing safeguard the life and health of the citizens of Louisiana by assuring

persons practicing as registered nurses and advanced practice registered nurses are competent and safe. Among its duties, the Board regulates nursing education and licensing and sets practice standards in Louisiana.

The appointments were effective at the beginning of January.

LSUHSC outreach expands at Ozanam Inn

n LSUHSC outreach program for the homeless through Ozanam Inn got a boost this week with a generous donation from Zimmer Dental. School of Dentistry Dean Dr. Henry Gremillion worked with the company to



Dr. Jack Andonie, Caroline Rivera, Dr. Henry Gremillion, Frances Bercier, Rick Hayse, Zimmer Dental President Harold Flynn, Nuss, Jeremy Curtis, Michael Collins, Vinay Juneja, Jens Boy, Bavana Ketha, Dr. Cathi Fontenot, Dr. Robert Barsley

support an onsite dental treatment room to complement the medical clinic already there. LSUHSC medical students provide services under faculty supervision and the sponsorship of Dr. Cathi Fontenot, and the new dental clinic will move oral health outreach for this group from the School of Dentistry campus to the Inn. The expansion will create an interdisciplinary clinic, affording dental students and faculty an even greater opportunity to serve alongside their medical colleagues.

The donation will enable our dental school to equip the treatment room, allowing volunteer students with volunteer faculty to begin to address the dental needs of the this under-served population.

LSUHSC public health reports oil spill health impact

he LSUHSC School of Public Health reported early results of their research at the Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill & Ecosystem Science

Conference this week. Our faculty presented more than any other of the Deepwater Horizon Consortium groups in the public health track.

Their presentations were all from The Women and their Children's Health (WaTCH) Study at the LSUHSC School of Public Health. It's a prospective cohort study of the physical, mental and community health effects resulting from the



LSUHSC research provides new drug target for HER-2 related breast cancer

esearch led by LSUHSC's Dr. Suresh Alahari details exactly how the Her2 cancer gene promotes the progression and spread of breast cancer cells. The inactivation of a tumor suppression gene called Nischarin is among the mechanisms identified. The findings provide a new therapeutic target to block the function of Her2. The research was published in Cancer Research, OnlineFirst on January 21, 2013.

About 30% of breast cancers are positive for the Her2 oncogene. Although this gene is implicated in breast cancer, the exact mechanism has been unknown. In this study, the researchers showed that the Her2 oncogene activates two short microRNAs, called miR-27b and miR-23b, which in



Dr. Suresh Alahari

turn regulate breast cancer progression and lung metastasis. The study also shows, for the first time, that these microRNAs inactivate the function of a tumor suppressor gene, called Nischarin, that Dr. Alahari's lab

discovered.

The data show for the first time that these two microRNAs are highly expressed in breast cancer patients. The researchers were able suppress the expression of microRNAs using a novel antisense compound that led to inhibition of breast tumor

growth. This study will be helpful in developing novel breast cancer therapeutic drugs that target mciroRNAs in breast cancer patients.

Spill, from page 1

Deepwater Horizon oil spill and its aftermath. WaTCH collects information on



Dr. Ed Trapido presenting his findings

exposure/proximity to the oil spill, loss of income, reproductive history, symptoms, comorbidities, seafood consumption, neighborhood social environment and collective efficacy, community cohesion, and other prior disaster exposures. WaTCH is being conducted among women and their children in the seven Southeast Louisiana parishes closest to the oil spill.

Drs. Ed Trapido, Ed Peters, Ariane Rung, and Daniel Harrington, as well as Megan Bronson presented.

Research findings reported included early results showing a statistically significant relationship between exposure to the spill and respiratory symptoms, skin rashes, severe headaches and migraines, fatigue, and an inability to concentrate. Depression is also an important problem. These results are preliminary, could have been affected by other factors, and represent a small number of the total expected to be enrolled in the study.

LeBlanc given Hero Award

im Edward LeBlanc, MD, PhD, Professor and Head of Family Medicine, is one of ten recipients of the 2012 Robert Raszkowski, MD, PhD, ACCME Hero Award. Presented by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the award honors

"extraordinary commitment a n d generosity of time and expertise enabling h ACCME



Dr. Kim Edward LeBlanc

to fulfill its mission of setting standards for quality continuing medical education (CME) and assuring that accredited CME providers meet those standards."

Dr. LeBlanc, the only recipient from Louisiana, has worked with the Accreditation Council of Continuing Medical Education since 2001, serving on the Board of Directors since 2010.

The award was presented to Dr. LeBlanc at the 2012 ACCME Board of Directors Meeting and announced this week by the ACCME.

The ACCME is responsible for accrediting US institutions that offer continuing medical education. There are approximately 2,000 accredited CME providers in the United States, whose educational activities draw more than 23 million health care practitioner participants annually.