LSU Health’s Bailey to Receive Prestigious National Award

November 17, 2023

The American Psychiatric Association (APA) Foundation has selected Rahn Baily, MD, DLFAPA, ACP, Professor and Chair of Psychiatry at LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine, as the recipient of the 2024 Solomon Carter Fuller Award.

According to the APA Foundation, “The Solomon Carter Fuller Award—established in 1969 and named for Dr. Solomon Carter Fuller, recognized as the first Black psychiatrist in America—honors a Black citizen who has pioneered in an area that has significantly improved the quality of life for Black people.”

“We strongly feel that your demonstrated contributions and your exceptional achievements in the field of psychiatry make you an outstanding recipient of this award,” wrote Saul Levin, MD, Chair, Board of Directors, APA Foundation, and Rawle Andrews, Jr., Esq., APA Executive Director.

Dr. Rahn BaileyDr. Bailey is also Assistant Dean of Community Engagement at LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine. Before joining the LSU Health New Orleans faculty, he was Chairman of Psychiatry at Meharry Medical College, Wake Forest Medical School, and the National Medical Association.

Dr. Bailey’s early research focused on Psychotic Disorders/SPMI, grew to include Depressive Illness/Bipolar Mood D/O, and expanded to forensic topics, Competency, Confidentiality, and Risk Management. Currently, his focus is Health Disparities, Healthcare Reform, and Violence.

He has 86 peer-reviewed publications in more than 20 refereed journals and published three books -- Health Disparities, 2013; Gun Violence, 2018; and Intimate Partner Violence, 2020.
Dr. Bailey is an advocate for change. He served as the Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the National Medical Association/Cobb Research Foundation. He chaired the National Alumni Council Board of Trustees of the National Medical Fellowships and completed a six-year term on the Rutgers University Board of Trustees in 2020.

He served as the 113th President of the National Medical Association. In 2006, he was selected by his peers as the NMA Physician of the Year in Houston during the Hurricane Katrina crisis. He was selected Outstanding Faculty Member at the University of Texas Houston and American Medical Association Co-Chairman of the Commission to End Health Disparities, 2012-13. In 2022, Dr. Bailey received the National Medical Association Ernest Y. Williams, M.D. Clinical Scholars of Distinction Award.

His work has been seminal in assisting communities in caring for patients’ health, developing strategies to improve their health paradigms, and working to enhance the lives of young professionals.

“Dr. Bailey is an outstanding member of our leadership team,” notes Dr. Richard DiCarlo, Interim Dean of LSU Health New Orleans School of Medicine. “This honor recognizes his expertise in addressing some of society’s most pressing needs.”

The award will be presented at the APA Annual Meeting in New York next May.

LSU Health New Orleans educates Louisiana's health care professionals. The state's health sciences university leader, LSU Health New Orleans includes a School of Medicine with campuses in Baton Rouge and Lafayette, the state's only School of Dentistry, Louisiana's only public School of Public Health, and Schools of Allied Health Professions, Nursing, and Graduate Studies. LSU Health New Orleans faculty take care of patients in public and private hospitals and clinics throughout the region. In the vanguard of biosciences research, the LSU Health New Orleans research enterprise generates jobs and enormous annual economic impact. LSU Health New Orleans faculty have made lifesaving discoveries and continue to work to prevent, advance treatment or cure disease. To learn more, visit,, or