LSU Health New Orleans

Career Opportunities | Contact | Donate

Monday, August 03, 2015   4:48 PM    |   88°F


President's Message

July 2014

Dear LSUHSC-NO Faculty and Visitors:

Welcome to our website!  The Faculty Senate is an elected body representing the faculty of the six schools on our campus (i.e., the Schools of Allied Health, Dentistry, Graduate Studies, Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health).  Currently, 27 senators elected from each of the Schools’ Faculty Assemblies or Faculty Organizations, and 1 senator representing the LSUHSC-NO libraries comprise the Senate.

As specified in our bylaws, the purpose of the Faculty Senate is to serve as a representative voice of the faculty and to provide a forum for communicating with the Chancellor and his administration.  The Senate meets regularly on the second Tuesday of each month, and these meetings are open to any recognized group within the LSUHSC-NO community that wishes to present suggestions or raise problems for consideration by the Senate.  We also communicate regularly with the Faculty Assemblies or Organizations within each school and communicate with the faculty senates of the other colleges and universities within the State of Louisiana through the Association of Louisiana Faculty Senates (ALFS).  Representatives from our Senate also attend the monthly meetings held by the Board of Supervisors.

Needless to say, all of these means of communicating with our fellow faculty members are essential for the success of our Health Sciences Center in today’s environment, as LSUHSC-NO continues to face unprecedented challenges to its livelihood through legislated changes in our health care delivery system, and our budget.  In the years since our recovery from Hurricane Katrina, state support for our mission has been severely cut and the federal funding of research grants may be at the lowest level in the history of the National Institutes of Health.  The good news is that despite these challenges, the LSUHSC-NO continues to grow and thrive, and this is all a testament to the resilience, creativity, and dedication of the people who work here, especially the faculty.  Therefore, as we look to the future, be assured that the Senate will continue to represent the faculty as a viable and informed voice in helping the administration carry out the vision and mission of the LSUHSC-NO.  If you believe the faculty and students are the heart and soul of any academic institution, we agree and we are your voice!  Please take the time to familiarize yourself with this website, review the work of the Faculty Senate, read the minutes posted from the meetings, and involve yourself in ways that help us succeed.  If you are in need of information or assistance, please do not hesitate to contact one of your Senators or myself.



Peter J. Winsauer, Ph.D.
Faculty Senate 2014-2015
LSU Health Sciences Center - New Orleans


Monthly Agendas

Faculty Senate Agendas are set only a few days before each meeting, so that they will be as up-to-date as possible. For further information or get an item on the agenda contact the FS Secretary.


Agenda  July 2015 (pdf)


If a Senator is unable to attend a meeting, a proxy should be designated. Please fill out the proxy form and submit to the Senate Secretary. Please refer to the Bylaws for complete rules (Article 1, Section 4, Line 160).




This page is maintained by the Faculty Senate, to whom all comments should be addressed.
The statements and opinions included in the LSUHSC Faculty Senate home page are those of the Faculty Senate only.
Any statements and/or opinions included in these pages are not those of Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center or the LSU Board of Supervisors.
Last updated: July 2015
Updated by FS Webmaster