LSU Health New Orleans Newsroom

LSUHealthNO Dental School Honors Hovland for Lifetime Service

Drs. Eric Hovland and Henry Gremillion LSUHealthNO Dental Alumni Day

Follow Us Subscribe RSS Feed

Media Contact

Leslie Capo

Office: 504-568-4806

Cell: 504-452-9166

Eric Hovland, DDS, MEd, MBA, Professor Emeritus and former Dean of LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry, was honored with the Lifetime Service Award at Alumni Day 2017. Dr. Hovland led the LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry from 1993 - 2008. Following his tenure as dean, he served as a professor in the Department of Endodontics and Director of the Office of Advanced Education from 2008 to 2017. He retired this year.

As dean of LSU Health New Orleans School of Dentistry during Hurricane Katrina, Hovland was responsible for the successful development of a temporary campus in Baton Rouge, allowing students to continue their dental education and the state to retain the dental professionals who not only teach, but treat. His many contributions expanded the school’s scope of service and advanced dental education at every level. In partnership with various agencies, Hovland established a satellite dental hygiene program and clinic in Lafayette, a clinic in New Orleans for the treatment of patients with HIV/AIDS and the Tooth Bus, a mobile pediatric dental clinic that treated children throughout New Orleans. He also strengthened the continuing education program, created a Master of Science degree in oral biology (now master of dentistry), created a competency-based curriculum and established the first patient-simulation laboratories for preclinical instruction. Among his efforts to expand the research functions at the dental school were the creation of a research center and a clinical research facility. He created four positions for patient care coordinators who work closely with students to monitor patient care. Under Hovland's leadership, the school significantly increased its fundraising efforts and strengthened relations with alumni.

Throughout his career, Hovland held many national leadership positions. He was president of the American Dental Education Association in 2005. He is past-president of the American Association of Endodontists and received the Edgar D. Coolidge Award, the AAE's highest honorary award. He also served as a delegate to the ADA House of Delegates and as commissioner of the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation from 1997 to 2001, chairing the commission from 2000 to 2001. He was also president of the Southern Conference of Deans and Dental Examiners.

Hovland has written numerous publications; he is a co-author of two editions of the textbook, Problem Solving in Endodontics, and editor of two Dental Clinics of North America symposia. He has lectured extensively to national and international associations.

Hovland is a fellow of the International College of Dentists, the American College of Dentists, and the Pierre Fauchard Academy. In 2004 he received the Academy of General Dentistry Thaddeus V. Weclew Award for exceptional contributions to the art and science of dentistry. In 2006, he received the Outstanding Dental Leader award from the International College of Dentists and the Edward B. Shils Entrepreneurial Award as an Outstanding Transformational Leader. In 2007, he received the Award of Merit for Exceptional Leadership during Hurricane Recovery from the Louisiana Dental Association.

Hovland earned a BS at the University of Maryland in 1968 and a DDS at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry in 1972. Following graduation, he served in the Air Force Dental Corps for three years. He then completed his endodontic residency at the Medical College of Virginia in 1977; at the same time he received a master’s in adult education from Virginia Commonwealth University. In 1980 he received a master’s in business administration from Loyola College in Baltimore.